junglepopla.blogg.se

Remove softraid mac
Remove softraid mac







  1. Remove softraid mac drivers#
  2. Remove softraid mac update#
  3. Remove softraid mac upgrade#

Here’s the list of updates that required money: Here’s the list of free updates I needed: Some updates were free, others required payment.

Remove softraid mac update#

Then, it was time to update the supporting software I use regularly. NOTE: I’m pretty sure Microsoft apps need updating, but I don’t use them, so I don’t really know. After updating these to all the latest released versions, they now do. Clearly, I needed to be sure that all my Apple and Adobe apps support Big Sur. Then, it was time to update applications that I purchased directly from the company’s website. (The most important of these was Apple’s Remote Desktop, which is how I control a couple of headless Mac minis.) Since these were all displayed in one place, that was easy. macOS updates do not affect data, though they may alter device drivers.įive applications obtained through the Mac App Store required updates. NOTE: I trashed apps and their supporting files. Instead, I dedicated a separate Mac to an older version of macOS and earlier versions of Adobe apps. While hanging on to old apps is nice, especially for legacy projects, most won’t run safely on the new OS. Given the new operating system, I trashed all my older versions of Adobe Software. So consider this a guide, not step-by-step instructions. Obviously, your list of important applications will be different from mine.

Remove softraid mac upgrade#

  • Check all the applications I cared about and upgrade those that needed it: 3 hours.
  • Do a complete Time Machine backup of the system I’m upgrading: 1 hour.
  • I made a point to do this upgrade before starting the update process. Nothing worse than updating your computer only to lose access to all your data.

    Remove softraid mac drivers#

    ( UPDATE: The Unimouse drivers went beta on March 29, 2021.) However, I also discovered that my OWC RAIDs also needed a driver upgrade to run on Big Sur.

    remove softraid mac

    I knew, going in, that my mouse – a Contour Designs’ Unimouse – did not support Big Sur. NOTE: For those that need to run more than one OS, I added a section on creating dual-boot systems at the end. But, after an afternoon spent testing all my software and upgrading what I needed, I’m back in full operation. It took time, cost money and required updating a lot of other software. But, when you feel the time is right, here’s what I learned. I also know other editors who want to take advantage of the latest in computer hardware and software. I know many professional editors earning a living using FCP 7 on 2010 Mac Pros running OS X 10.6. There is no requirement that you upgrade to Big Sur. Still, now that macOS 11.2 is out, I figured it was about time for me to upgrade.

    remove softraid mac

    For me, keeping my system running smoothly is more important than running the absolutely latest version of macOS. People pay me to be productive, not discover bugs in software. When it comes to updating the operating system on my main production Mac, I’m a laggard.









    Remove softraid mac